3 WEAC members named Most Influential Teachers by Presidential Scholars

Wisconsin’s three new Presidential Scholars each named a WEAC member as their Most Influential Teacher.

The Department of Public Instruction on Monday announced that this year’s Wisconsin Presidential Scholars are Colin Gray-Hoehn, Brookfield East High School; Dylon Pokorny, Waupun Junior and Senior High School; and Maria Thurow of Monticello, New Glarus High School. Pokorny is a U.S. Presidential Scholar in Career and Technical Education, one of just 20 named nationwide.

Each scholar named a most influential teacher as part of their application materials, and each is a WEAC member. Gray-Hoehn named Emira Hot, his high school English teacher; Pokorny chose his high school agriculture teacher, Tari Costello; and Thurow said her high school mathematics teacher Lauren Walker was her most influential teacher.

Created in 1964, the Presidential Scholars Program has honored nearly 7,500 of the nation’s top- performing students. The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars selects honored scholars annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations, and transcripts as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals. Of the 3.5 million students expected to graduate from high school this year, more than 5,100 candidates qualified for the 2017 awards determined by outstanding performance on the ACT and SAT college admissions exams, through nominations made by Chief State School Officers, other partner recognition organizations, or the National YoungArts Foundation’s nationwide YoungArts competition.

More information about the Presidential Scholars Program is available on the U.S. Department of Education website at http://www2.ed.gov/programs/psp/index.html.