36 WEAC members named Kohl Teacher Fellows for 2018

At least 36 WEAC members have been named Herb Kohl Educational Foundation 2018 Teacher Fellows, educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom. Each winner and their school receives an award of $6,000. The WEAC members named as Kohl Teacher Fellows for 2018 are:


  • Susan Bolly-Schlenker, Milwaukee Nicolet High School, Glendale
  • Cheryl Crosby, Milwaukee Transition High School, Milwaukee
  • Sarah Fadness, Milwaukee Milwaukee School of Languages, Milwaukee
  • Katelyn Morici, Waukesha Poplar Creek Elementary School, New Berlin
  • Janelle Osowski, Hartland North Lake Elementary School, North Lake
  • Sarah Ozurumba, Milwaukee ALBA, Milwaukee
  • Jennifer Reinert, Germantown Grantosa Drive Elementary School, Milwaukee
  • Patricia Rian, Milwaukee Wedgewood Park School, Milwaukee
  • Joanna Rizzotto, Milwaukee South Milwaukee High School, South Milwaukee
  • Amber Thornton, Milwaukee King International High School, Milwaukee
  • Rochelle Vlaj, Milwaukee Transition High School, Milwaukee
  • Lisa Wathen, Bayside Nicolet High School, Glendale
  • Karla Zuehlke, Milwaukee IDEAL, Milwaukee


  • Mikaela Hagen, Madison LaFollette High School, Madison
  • Mark Nepper, Madison West High School, Madison


  • Leif Carlson, Richland Center Richland Center High School, Richland Center
  • Judy Felsenthal, Lancaster Platteville Middle School, Platteville
  • Monica Kmak, Dodgeville Dodgeville Elementary School, Dodgeville


  • Laura Koll, Sparta Sparta Meadowview Intermediate, Sparta
  • Mary Sackmann, Sparta Sparta High School, Sparta
  • Heather Stern, La Crosse North Woods International School, La Crosse


  • Jan Imhoff, Baraboo Portage High School, Portage


  • Sam Appleton, Kimberly Little Chute Middle School, Little Chute
  • Robyn Bindrich, Kewaskum Kewaskum Elementary/Middle and Farmington Elementary Schools, Kewaskum


  • Amy Hanson, Brillion Chilton Middle School, Chilton
  • Frank Juarez, Sheboygan Sheboygan North High School, Sheboygan


  • Christine Kadonsky, Wausau West High School, Wausau
  • Joan Tabor, Merrill Merrill Area School, Merrill
  • Shari Wendland, Tomahawk Northwoods Community Elementary School, Harshaw
  • Michael Werdeo, Antigo Antigo High School, Antigo


  • Amy Hanna, Granton Granton High School, Granton
  • Katie Hatlestad, Withee Owen-Withee Elementary School, Owen
  • Beverly Pierson, Eau Claire Memorial High School, Eau Claire


  • Susan Olson-Rosenbush, Spooner Spooner High School, Spooner
  • Michael Wilson, Saint Croix Falls Saint Croix Falls High School, Saint Croix Falls


  • Susan Thurn, Cable Drummond Elementary School, Drummond

In total, 100 educators received fellowships. For the complete list of Educator Fellows, as well as Herb Kohl Educational Foundation Scholarship (students) and Leadership (principals) winners, click here. If you are a WEAC member who won a Kohl Fellowship this year but are not listed above, please contact us to let us know at communications@weac.org.

Excellence Scholarship recipients have demonstrated excellence in the academic arena and high motivation to achieve, have displayed a broad range of activity and leadership outside the academic setting, and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond. Fellowship recipients are educators who have been chosen for their superior ability to inspire a love of learning in their students, their ability to motivate others, and their leadership and service within and outside the classroom. Leadership Award recipients are school principals who are being recognized for setting high standards for instruction, achievement, and character, and creating a climate to best serve students, families, staff, and community. Excellence Scholarship, Fellowship, and Leadership Award recipients are selected by a statewide committee composed of civic leaders, and representatives of education-related associations and the program’s co-sponsors: The Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Wisconsin Council of Religious and Independent Schools (WCRIS), regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESAs), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Parents Association.

Initiative Scholarship recipients, chosen by their schools, have demonstrated exceptional initiative in the classroom and have shown strong promise for succeeding in college and beyond, but have not yet received other academic-based scholarships. “I think it is significant that Wisconsin’s students, teachers, principals, and schools are recognized for their devotion to education and learning,” said Dr. Chris Cody, WCRIS board president. “Herb Kohl, through his philanthropy on behalf of our educators and students, has provided opportunity and access to a better future for countless Wisconsinites,” said State Superintendent Tony Evers.

The Kohl Foundation Scholarship and Fellowship program was established by Herb Kohl, philanthropist and businessman, in 1990. To date the foundation has awarded $14.5 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools. “Education is the key to the future of Wisconsin and our nation. I am very proud of the accomplishments of these students, teachers, and principals and look forward to the great contributions they will make in the future,” Kohl said.

Letters notifying recipients of the award were mailed by the Herb Kohl Foundation on March 16, 2018. Regional recognition luncheons honoring the recipients will be held in a few weeks. Following is the list of recognition luncheon dates and locations, and the list of recipients. Herb Kohl will attend all luncheons and present awards to recipients.