Holmen teacher Roger King honored at NEA Gala


Wisconsin’s Teacher of the Year – Roger King of Holmen High School – was one of 43 outstanding educators honored last week at the NEA Foundation’s Salute to Excellence in Education Gala in Washington D.C. WEAC President Ron Martin and Vice President Peggy Wirtz-Olsen joined King at the event, which is an annual celebration of the men and women who work in America’s public schools and of the unique bonds that educators and students share.


Bill Emery works to ease the stresses on fellow ag teachers


When one of his agriculture teaching colleagues committed suicide five years ago, Baldwin-Woodville ag teacher Bill Emery began a program to help others deal with the pressures of the job. “Because of his death, I became a bit more vocal in the state wellness, more on the wellness of the mind,” Emery says in an article about him in the New Richmond News.


Two WEAC members helping develop new computer science standards

Computer Science

Two WEAC members are on a state committee overseeing development of new computer science standards for Wisconsin schools. Among the members of the State Superintendent’s Standards Review Council, which will oversee the Computer Science Standards Writing Committee, are Heather Mielke of Elkhorn, Math Teacher, Burlington High School; and Lisa Sanderfoot of De Pere, Computer and Information Science Teacher, Valley View Elementary School, Ashwaubenon School District.


Two WEAC members are finalists for Presidential Teaching Awards

Jay Garvey Shah and Leigh Kohlmann

Two WEAC members are finalists for the 2016 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, one of the nation’s highest honors for matematics and science teachers. The 2016 awards will recognize teachers at the elementary level (K-6). The two members are: Jay Garvey Shah, science finalist, fifth grade teacher, Creekside Elementary School, Sun Prairie Area School District; and Leigh Kohlmann, science finalist, sixth grade teacher, Rock River Intermediate School, Waupun Area School District.