WEAC 2020 award recipients

Judy Foust, Colfax
Friend of Education

Judy Foust of Colfax is a motivational speaker who was selected for her consistent advocacy to lift up educators and our profession. She is a regular presenter at conferences for educators and was formerly an English and reading instructor for 37 years in four different Wisconsin public schools.

Gail Kablau, South Milwaukee School District
WEAC Education Support Professional of the Year

Gail Kablau, logistics, activities and athletics secretary in the South Milwaukee School District was selected for her dedication to public education and her union. Kablau, who enhances the image of education support professionals through her work, is the WEAC ESP-at-Large Board Representative and writes a blog for ESPs.

Doug Keillor, Madison Teachers Inc.
Barb Simpson, WEAC Region 6
Cunningham, Dickinson, Watson Staff Award

Doug Keillor, executive director of MTI, and Barb Simpson, WEAC Region 6 staff assistant, are the recipients of the Cunningham, Dickinson, Watson Commemorative Staff Award.

Keillor’s MTI career spans 30 years, the last four as executive director. He was selected based on the high level of support he provides members, as well as for building the capacity of elected leaders and members as advocates, exemplifying that the power in a union comes not from a single voice, but from many.

Simpson, a 38-year employee of WEAC Region 6 and Capital Area Uniserv South before that, was selected for her organization, attention to detail and ability to be proactive on behalf of our members. She is known for her hard work and dedication, along with her professional demeanor, charm and smile.

Alan Morawiecz, Richland Center Middle School
Richard J. Lewandowski Award for Humanitarian Activities

Alan Morawiecz, a middle school technical education teacher at Richland Center Middle School, is the recipient of the Richard J. Lewandowski Award for Humanitarian Activities. Morawiecz, the youngest son of a Holocaust survivor, uses the Holocaust Shoe Project to teach students about the horrors of the Holocaust and the importance of helping the less fortunate.

Pat Schmidt, Wautoma
Tenia Jenkins Activist Award

Pat Schmidt, a Wautoma music teacher for 41 years before retiring, is the recipient of the Tenia Jenkins Activist Award. Schmidt, a WEAC Region 10/Retired member, has spent her retirement advocating for students, public schools and educators. A passionate activist, she helps organize and train members in legislative advocacy across the aisles, noting there is no place for partisanship in our public schools.

WEAC Scholarship Recipients

Anna Claerbaut Kathy Mann Scholarship
Parents:  David & Mary Claerbaut, Cedar Grove-Belgium School District

Sophia Sander
Parents:  Christopher & Tricia Sander, Cuba City

Samuel Lucas Johnson
Parents:  Jon & Jennifer Johnson, Gale-Ettrick-Trempeauleau

Lynsey Anderson
Parents:  Dan and Karen Anderson, Holmen