Friend of Education Award


Friend of Education Award


The Friend of Education Award is to be presented to an individual or group who has made a significant contribution to education and/or the profession in Wisconsin. The media and active WEAC/Region members are not eligible to receive this award. Forms must be received in the WEAC office no later than February 1.

Friend of Education Award Guidelines

  1. Purpose. To recognize individuals or organizations who have made significant contributions to the cause of public education in the State of Wisconsin.
  2. Eligibility.
    1. Governmental (state officials, legislators, mayors, school officials, etc.)
    2. Private citizens.
    3. Corporate.
  3. Criteria.
    1. The award will be given to a group or individual who has made a significant contribution to education and/or the profession in Wisconsin.
    2. The activity or action being recognized must be completed or ongoing, as opposed to being promised.
    3. The impact of the activity, actions or contribution should be viewed as long term, enhancing, complementary to the goals of WEAC, and easily recognizable.
    4. The individual or organization recognized should not be a member, contributor or advocate for other causes which are recognized as being in conflict with the long term policies of the teachers of Wisconsin (WEAC policy, resolutions, platform, etc.) Such organizations to include, but not be limited to: KKK, Right to Work Committee, etc.
  4. Procedures
    1. Nominations
      1. To be received on forms provided by the subcommittee.
      2. Submitted by February 1
      3. By category.
      4. By individuals/affiliates.
      5. Endorsements by local/Region unit.
    2. Decision of the Committee
      1. The Committee shall consider the nominations received which have met timelines and submission requirement.
      2. The Committee shall not be required to recommend an award in any category irrespective of the number of nominations.
      3. The Committee shall make its decision on the basis of the criteria.
      4. The recommendation of the Committee shall be advisory, only, and shall be submitted to the Board of Directors.
      5. The WEAC Board of Directors may accept or reject the recommendation of the Committee but may not change it or substitute another entry.
      6. The nominations submitted and votes thereon shall be the property of the subcommittee.
    3. The subcommittee shall seek nominations for the Friend of Education Award from members of the Board of Directors, Regions and local affiliates through the office of the Region or local president.
    4. Nominations must be received in the WEAC office no later than February 1. In the event February 1 is not a working day, the next working day shall become the deadline.
    5. The subcommittee shall not release any information regarding its recommendations prior to presenting its recommendations at the Board of Directors meeting.
    6. The subcommittee shall present its recommendation to the Board of Directors no later than the February meeting.
    7. A majority vote of the Board of Directors members present and voting constitutes an affirmation of the subcommittee’s recommendation.
    8. The media and active UEP members are excluded from consideration.

Past Friend of Education Award winners:

2019        Tony Evers

2018        G-Safe

2017        Maggie Beeber

2016        Wisconsin Public Education Network

2015        None

2014       WEA Member Benefits

2013       None

2012       None

2011       Seneca Educational Foundation, Inc.

2010       Robert (Bob) Gustafson

2009       Institute for Wisconsin’s Future/Wisconsin Alliance for Excellent Schools

2008       Ellen Hossman

2007       Whitehall Administrative Team

2006       Transition year

2005       John and Christine Virtue of Darlington

2004       Paul Nelson of Richland Center

2003       Ret. WI Supreme Court Justice William Bablitch

2002       Alan Purvis, Iris Dahms

2001       Dr. James Shaw

2000       Dr. Alex Molnar

1999       Attorney Richard Perry

1998       State Senator Richard Grobschmidt

1997       Julie Stafford, Dir of WI Acad Staff Dev

1996       Attorney Robert Kelly, Kathy Haller (Wis PTA)

1995       John Benson & DPI, Dr. Lee Hansen

1994       James G. Birnbaum

1993       Wisconsin PTA (Kathy Haller), U.S. Senator Herb Kohl

1992       Harland Kirschner

1991       Senator Calvin J. Potter

1990       Cedarburg Junior Woman’s, Inc.

1989       Senator Robert Jauch

1988       Senator Joseph Andrea

1987       Buycrus-Erie Company, So. Milwaukee

1986       State Superintendent Bert Grover

1985       Governor Anthony Earl

1984       Senator John J. Mauer

1983       Senator Timothy Cullen

1982       The Arts Council of South Wood County Inc.

1981       Art Polk of Montello

1980       Senator Gary Goyke

1979       Congressman Alvin Baldus

1978       Activist William O. Hart