May 13, 2024

Five Educators Selected 2025 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year

Five Educators Selected 2025 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year Featured Image

Five members of the Wisconsin Education Association Council have been named 2025 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year by the state Department of Public Instruction. The group received the honor for their dedication to the education profession and for the impact they have on their students as learners and individuals.

“WEAC is so proud of these dedicated and caring teachers,” said Peggy Wirtz-Olsen, a teacher and WEAC president. “WEAC members are dedicated to our students, education excellence and Wisconsin Public Schools. Educators are unsung heroes to our students, so it’s especially inspiring when our members are recognized for the work we do to reach, teach and inspire all students who enter our schools – no exceptions.”

The 2025 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year are:

  • Ana Báez, bilingual counselor at South Division High School (Milwaukee Teachers’ Education Association)
  • Bethany Counard, English language arts teacher at West De Pere Middle School (West De Pere Education Association)
  • Brian Counselman, a science teacher at Malcolm Shabazz City High School (Madison Teachers Inc.)
  • Sarah Krajewski, art teacher at Cambridge Elementary School (Cambridge Education Association)
  • Rachel Sauvola, agriscience teacher at New Richmond High School (New Richmond Education Association)

“This group of educators are a tremendous source of inspiration to their students, their schools, and everyone across Wisconsin,” State Superintendent Dr. Jill Underly said. “They go above and beyond to support students in many unique ways, providing a safe, inclusive environment for kids to unlock their potential and grow as individuals. It was my honor to travel across Wisconsin to surprise each of them in front of their students, colleagues, and families. I congratulate them on being named Wisconsin Teachers of the Year, and I thank all our state’s incredible teachers for all they do for our students and our communities.”

Read more about each of the 2025 Wisconsin Teachers of the Year on the DPI website.