Education Support Professional Award

WEAC celebrates education support professionals dedicated to Wisconsin Public Schools.

2019-20 ESP of the Year is Gail Kablau, South Milwaukee School District

Gail Kablau is the logistics, activities and athletics secretary in the South Milwaukee School District and was selected for her dedication to public education and her union. Kablau, who enhances the image of education support professionals through her work, is the WEAC ESP-at-Large Board Representative and writes a blog for ESPs.

WEAC ESP Award Information

Purpose: To recognize outstanding work by education support professional members who have made significant contributions to the cause of the union and public education in the state of Wisconsin.

Eligibility: An individual ESP member in good standing for three years as of September 1 of the award year.

Criteria: The Education Support Professional Award is presented to an individual who shows outstanding accomplishments in one or more of the following areas:

  • Enhancement of the image of education support professionals in the community by being a participating citizen in a democratic society.
  • Advancement of education support professionals by being an active and participating member within the local, regional, state or national association or other related associations.
  • Use of innovations to support the day-to-day educational process.
  • Professional achievements in his or her classification.

Selection Procedure:

  • The nomination shall consist of up to four (4) letters of recommendation and support for this award.
  • Forms must be received no later than February 1.
  • Each nomination will be checked to ensure that it meets eligibility requirements by WEAC staff.
  • The selection committee will review applicants according to the criteria and purpose listed.
  • The committee’s selection for the award shall be forwarded to the WEAC president who will present the recommendation to the WEAC board of directors for consideration and approval.

Previous ESP of the Year Winners

2018-19               Katherine Hinson

2017-18               Tammy Erickson

2016-17               John Linneman

2015-16               Kim Floeter

2014-15               Dorothy Robinson

2013-14               Ted Chaudoir

2012-13               Lynn Goss

2011-12               None

2010-11               Ruth Ann Messling

2009-10               Sue Smits

2008-09               Mary Koepsel

2007-08               Debbie Martin

2006-07               Laura Vernon

2005                     Kay Hansen

2004                     Judy Heise

2003                     Linda Harter

2001                     Joni Wilcox

2000                     Teri Hanson

1999                     Ned Hanrahan

1998                     Vita Smith

1997                     Micki Thelen

1996                     Arlene Braden

1995                     Debbie Meyer

1994                     Lois Krueger

1993                     Jim Gilbertson

1992                     Joyce Jones