January 7, 2021

State Superintendent Candidates File

State Superintendent Candidates File Featured Image

We’re all reeling after Trump supporters Wednesday violently stormed the U.S. Capitol in a last-ditch attempt to stop Congress from certifying that President-elect Joe Biden won the election. Here is the statement from NEA President Becky Pringle.

After the dust settled, Republican U.S. Representatives Scott Fitzgerald and Tom Tiffany were the only Wisconsin members who backed rejecting electoral votes from Arizona and Pennsylvania as Congress confirmed Joe Biden’s presidential win.

Seven Candidates File to Run for State Schools Superintendent

See More on the Candidates 

  • Jill Underly, Pecatonica Area School District superintendent
  • Sheila Briggs, assistant state superintendent at the Department of Public Instruction
  • Troy Gunderson, adjunct professor of school finance at Viterbo University in La Crosse
  • Deborah Kerr, an executive committee member for the American Association of School Administrators
  • Joe Fenrick, a Fond du Lac High School science teacher
  • Steve Krull, principal to Milwaukee’s Garland Elementary School
  • Shandowlyon Hendricks-Williams, former DPI director of the Teacher Education, Professional Development and Licensing team and former Milwaukee office director for Gov. Tony Evers

Court of Appeals Candidates

Candidates for the Second and Third Court of Appeals in Wisconsin will also be on the spring ballot.

2nd Court of Appeals

3rd Court of Appeals

Bills Circulating

The following bills are among those circulating for co-sponsorship:

LRB-0513: Changing the distribution of presidential electors to go to candidates who win congressional districts instead of a statewide victory.

LRB-0117: Implementing various changes to the worker’s compensation law, including added liability protections for public safety officers and payments in cases of injuries resulting in death.

Pocan Won’t Seek Seek Senate Seat

U.S. Representative Mark Pocan has announced he will not run for the U.S. Senate seat that will be on the ballot next year. The Town of Vermont Democrat said in a statement he was “honored many people have asked me to run” but indicated he felt he could “best deliver real results to help my constituents and the nation” as a senior member of the House Appropriations Committee. U.S. Senator Ron Johnson, R-Oshkosh, hasn’t yet said if he’ll run again despite a pledge in 2016 to serve only two terms.

For Democrats, Outagamie County Exec Tom Nelson has declared his candidacy. Lieutenant Governor Mandela Barnes, Secretary of State Sarah Godlewski, Milwaukee Bucks executive and former Obama administration official Alex Lasry and Steven Olikara, the founder and president of Millennial Action Project, are considered as other possible candidates.