December 22, 2023

21 WEAC Members Achieve 2023 National Board Certification

21 WEAC Members Achieve 2023 National Board Certification Featured Image

Twenty-one WEAC members recently achieved National Board Certification, the highest level of certification in the teaching profession. The research is clear: teachers are the most important school-based variable determining the quality of student learning. These members represent the many accomplished, hard-working educators who prepare for, teach, and assess the work of students throughout the state of Wisconsin every day.

“The National Board Certification process elevates our profession because teachers created rigorous standards within our own organization—’by teachers, for teachers’ not teaching standards created by administrators or politicians for teachers”, said WEAC NBCT mentor Cyntha Slavish.

WEAC provides significant support to National Board candidates including summer Jump Start, in person and virtual monthly support cohorts, a spring writing retreat, and access to over 50 mentors who will read and provide input on assessment entries. Achieving National Board certification is the perfect way to give yourself a raise. The state provides a $2,500 to $5,000 stipend based on the level of poverty at your worksite, and many school districts provide additional compensation. Additionally, the WEA Credit Union provides an interest free loan to members that can be used to pay for the certification process.

Newly certified NBCTs will be invited to an official pinning ceremony at the Governor’s Residence in Madison.

If you are considering National Board Certification and have questions, please click the button below or e-mail WEAC at

National Board Information

2023 WEAC National Board Certified Teachers

Kimberly Alizadeh Ashrafi, Sun Prairie Area School District
Amy Bass, School District Of Reedsburg
Jay Bullock, Milwaukee Public Schools
Emily Chittick, Milwaukee Public Schools
Kristen Cohen, Racine Unified School District
Jonathan Etter, Wauwatosa School District
Lucy Fisher, West De Pere School District
Sue Guenther, Gale-Ettrick-Trempealeau School District
Dan Hansen, Ft. Atkinson School District
Stephen Hilger, Oshkosh Area School District
Amanda Jensen, Holmen School District
Tanya Lohr, West Bend School District
Gregory Mielke, West Bend School District
Abigail Muras, Mt. Horeb Area School District
Christopher Powers, Stoughton Area School District
Kimberly Rice, Eau Claire Area School District
Dianna Rogers Wells, Verona Area School District
Jordan Sisson, Wausau School District
Elizabeth Vander Heiden, Elmbrook School District
Sarah Wallace, Kickapoo Area School District
Michael Weidner, Nicolet Union High School District