February 28, 2021

Up Next: The Joint Finance Committee

Up Next: The Joint Finance Committee Featured Image

On February 16th, 2020 Governor Tony Evers released his budget proposal, which includes provisions for the restoration of collective bargaining rights, an end to “right-to-work”, and the restoration of 2/3 funding for our schools. The next step in the Budget process is the debate and work in the legislature. To do this work, the legislature convenes the powerful Joint Finance Committee (JFC), which features members of both parties from both houses of the Wisconsin Legislature. The JFC’s primary responsibility is to serve as the principal legislative committee charged with the review of all state appropriations and revenues.

The Joint Committee on Finance is a statutory standing committee of the Wisconsin Legislature, split equally with 8 Senate members and 8 Assembly members.  The majority party in each house appoints six members, while the minority party in each house appoints two members.

Ordinarily, there is an opportunity for citizens to be heard in a series of public hearings in front of the committee. With the pandemic, this tradition is in jeopardy. It is important that it be made clear to the members of the JFC that public testimony should be heard and extended to virtual testimony so that more citizens can engage the process and do so safely.

Below there is a list of the members of Joint Finance and their contact information.


Picture of Representative Mark Born

Mark Born (R-Beaver Dam)

Representative Born (Co-Chair)



Picture of Senator Howard L. Marklein

Sen. Howard Marklein (R-Spring Green)  Co-Chair

Senator Marklein (Co-Chair)



Picture of Senator Duey Stroebel

Sen. Duey Stroebel (R-Saukville) Vice-Chair

Senator Stroebel



Picture of Senator Dale Kooyenga

Sen. Dale Kooyenga (R-Brookfield)

Senator Kooyenga



Picture of Senator Mary Felzkowski

Sen. Mary Felzkowski (R-Irma)

Senator Felzkowski



Picture of Senator Kathleen Bernier

Sen. Kathy Bernier (R-Chippewa Falls)

Senator Bernier



Picture of Senator Joan Ballweg

Sen. Joan Ballweg (R-Markesan)

Senator Ballweg



Picture of Senator Jon Erpenbach

Sen. Jon Erpenbach (D-West Point)

Senator Erpenbach



Picture of Senator LaTonya Johnson

Sen. LaTonya Johnson (D-Milwaukee)

Senator Johnson



Picture of Representative Amy Loudenbeck

Rep. Amy Loudenbeck (R-Clinton)

Representative Loudenbeck



Picture of Representative Terry Katsma

Rep. Terry Katsma (R-Oostburg)

Representative Katsma



Picture of Representative Shannon Zimmerman

Rep. Shannon Zimmermann (R-River Falls)

Representative Zimmerman



Picture of Representative Jessie Rodriguez

Rep. Jessie Rodriguez (R-Creek)

Representative J. Rodriguez



Picture of Representative Tony Kurtz

Rep. Tony Kurtz (R-Wonewoc)

Representative Kurtz



Picture of Representative Evan Goyke

Rep. Evan Goyke (D-Milwaukee)

Representative Goyke



Picture of Representative Greta Neubauer
Rep. Greta Neubauer (D-Racine)

Representative Neubauer