This is news for and about WEAC members, including state politics and education issues.

To receive WEAC's Daily News Feed via email, subscribe HERE.

To sign up for other email alerts, go to

Teachers Invited to Leadership Summit


A summit called “Every Teacher a Leader” will invite Wisconsin educators to ignite a discussion around the importance of teacher leadership and elevating the collective voice of our educators.


Humphries calls for State Education Board and private takeover of targeted schools


State Superintendent candidate John Humphries said he wants to create a State Education Board to oversee the State Superintendent and that he “wants schools that persistently do not meet state standards to be converted into private voucher or charter schools, or a new model of public school or some other governance model.” But State Superintendent Tony Evers, who is running for re-election, opposes both measures, saying the Superintendent’s office is an independent Constitutional office. Evers said the privatization plan was “like a back to the future — it’s something that failed. It’s No Child Left Behind, John Humphries’ version. It didn’t work back then with President George W. Bush and it’s not going to work with him.”


Eskelsen García helps U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan launch Public Education Caucus


NEA President Lily Eskelsen García joined U.S. Rep. Mark Pocan and other public education supporters Tuesday to announce the launch of a Congressional Public Education Caucus to support the goals of public education under Donald Trump’s presidency and to oppose the confirmation of Betsy DeVos as Education Secretary. “Making large political contributions to Donald Trump and countless other politicians and organizations aimed at dismantling public education does not count as a qualification for the position of the head of the Department of Education,” Pocan said. “Betsy DeVos is a danger to students, especially our most vulnerable students,” Eskelsen García said.


We must be committed to the success of EVERY student, WEAC President Martin says


“The continued success of Wisconsin neighborhood public schools is a tribute to the educators and parents who have gone above and beyond while the governor and Legislature have undercut our students,” WEAC President Ron Martin said Tuesday in response to the governor’s State of the State Address. “As teachers, we are committed to the success of every student through the public schools that provide opportunity to all students, not just a few. Our schools need funding restored so they can attract and keep qualified teachers and students can get more one-on-one attention. Students need less testing and more time to learn. Let’s get serious about our public schools, and stop throwing tax dollars at what doesn’t work – private tuition subsidies.”